top of page
  • Writer's picturejerleena christelle

Wellness: Five Best Free Meditation Apps

You might be wondering how someone can be so calm and grounded amidst the chaos.


For me mental health is always first when it comes to self- care. There’s nothing wrong or right when it comes to meditation. You can either sit upright or even lie on your bed, as long as you don’t fall asleep (it won’t be a meditation when that happens, trust me).



First thing in the morning when I wake up, is for me to drink water, grab my headphones and sunglasses, head to our balcony and start playing my meditation app.


I’ve seen great outcomes for the days when I meditate compare to when I’m not. It feels that it helps me to be more present and it centers myself. It is a grateful way to be welcoming a new day by just being able to focus on your breathing.


To help you ease into a mindfulness practice I’ve curated a few of my best and favourite apps that I use for my meditation, as well as why each one might work best for you.


1

Headspace


If you’re starting with meditation, this app will be best for a basic guide that puts you directly to the “Basics” and “Breathe” pack (yes, it’s free), designed to help beginners understand how to sit and meditate.









Cost: Free, CA$17.99 per month after trial

Where to find it: Apple Store and Google Play







2

Calm


A great app full of good content. It’s filled with hundreds of meditation practices and sleep stories that are written and recorded by some of the top experts and celebrities as well (including Harry Styles, 5sos and Lebron James).










Cost: Free, in-app purchases

Where to find it: Apple Store and Google Play






3

Fabulous


This app is life-changing! You can customize your healthy habit, chaining them together to create a complete routine. I love how you can join with a challenge and share your accomplishments on the discussion board.








Cost: Free

Where to find it: Apple Store and Google Play








4

Oak


Aesthetically pleasing! I love how the app sends daily mindfulness quotes to remind you to meditate. It’s a simple one but so great if you only have a few minutes to take a breather.










Cost: Free

Where to find it: Apple Store and Google Play








5

Complete Relaxation: Lite


This is honestly a lifesaver in anxious moments, I’ve listened to over 54 hours of it!













Cost: Free

Where to find it: Apple Store

31 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page